PDA

View Full Version : CS3 Workflow

Roger Williams
09-10-2008, 02:10 PM
Sorry to start yet another workflow thread but I'd appreciate your advice.

I've been using PS Elements 5 for several years. I invested in Downloader Pro and BreezeBrowser, bought Artie's books and PFD and had my workflow (somwhat) under control. Then, I yielded to the less-than-half-price offer from Adobe to upgrade to CS3 (v10.0.1) and learned the joys of Bridge and Camera Raw. So the questions begin.

I download images using Downloader Pro and automatically switch to BB for editing. Rather than converting RAW images to TIFF with BB as before, and processing them with CS3 (formerly Elements), I've been processing them in Bridge's Camera Raw and saving them in TIFF format as master files. If additional processing is needed, I do that in CS3. Is anything wrong with this picture? Is there an advantage in converting RAW to TIFF for processing over direct Camera Raw processing of RAW images?

For those of you with Bridge, is there any advantage in using DownLoader Pro as opposed to the download program in Bridge? In either event, I will likely continue to use BB for editing.

An unrelated question - how do I make the copyright symbol with either BB or PS? My operating system is Windows XP if that's a factor.

Your views are appreciated.

roger

Robert Amoruso
09-10-2008, 02:48 PM
Roger,

My basic software workflow.

1) BBPro to edit.
2) BBPro to convert RAW to TIFF (75%) and ACR (25%).
3) Post Process in PSCS3.

ACR = Adobe Camera Raw.

I do not use Bridge. From BBPro you can right click on an image and select edit (Preferences has to be set so that PSCS3 is the editor) and a RAW image will open in ACR and a TIFF in PSCS3.

I use BBPro for a good majority or my conversions still when I have a nicely exposed image not needing some of ACR's advanced features like fill-light or recover. If I feel ACR will do a better job for me I use it to convert the RAW to a TIFF.