PDA

View Full Version : Great egret

Jerry van Dijk
09-05-2008, 03:10 PM
This portrait of a Great egret was taken in a zoo, the reason why I was able to get up close.
Panasonic DMC-FZ18, 83mm, ISO 100, F/4.2, 1/125 sec. Cranked up contrast considerably to make the bird stand out from it's background and enhance details in the feathers. Did a bit of sharpening too.

This is my first posting on the site. The work of my colleague Krijn Trimbos and his ongoing enthousiasm about photography encouraged me to take up my old hobby in digitized form. Being a newbie, I'm still a bit anxious about my photograph quality and my image processing abilities, hence a post in the Eager to learn section. Comments and critiques are very welcome!
Adding to my anxiousness is the fact that I deliberately chose NOT to buy a DSLR, but instead bought a Panasonic DMC-FZ18. The main reason: most of my photographing is done during long hikes, more often than not accompanied by my children and all the stuff that comes with them (diapers!!), so I chose a small and lightweight camera. I was pretty pleased with image quality shown in forums and content with results so far. Only in difficult light conditions, the noise reduction can really mess up the image.
Let me know what you think!

Katie Rupp
09-05-2008, 03:51 PM
Welcome to the ETL forum, Jerry, it's a great place to learn and some of the regulars are very good at reposting images with improvements which really helps to understand the advice/suggestions. Your egret has good detail and I like the black BG (background) although I would clone out the white spots; it looks like the top of the head and beak have blown highlights and I would wish for a better HA (head angle)---turned more toward you. That said, I like it!

Lance Peters
09-05-2008, 08:39 PM
Hi Jerry - welcome to THE BPN FAMILY.