PDA

View Full Version : Legless shorebirds?

Beth Goffe
09-01-2008, 07:55 PM
Well, not really. At Nickerson Beach yesterday, I noticed a lot of sanderlings and some semipalmated plovers hopping around one one leg. I found it rather disturbing until I spoke with a fellow birder later that day who told me that they do that because they get lazy and just stand and hop on one leg. I am new to observing shorebirds closely this year but I don't know how I missed seeing this on other trips to the beach! In any case, is there a scientific reason as to why they do this or are they simply lazy or giving their legs a break? I'm posting an image of a semipalmated plover getting ready to hop away from me in my car (this was taken in the parking lot at Nickerson where a lot of these and the sanderlings were roosting).

John Chardine
09-01-2008, 08:45 PM
Nice observation Beth. I've seen this a lot but do not know if it is fully established why shorebirds/waders do this.

Image is Lesser Yellowlegs sandwiched between two Greater Yellowlegs cousins.

Theories anyone?

Axel Hildebrandt
09-01-2008, 09:02 PM
I have no idea but would guess it saves energy.

Beth Goffe
09-02-2008, 06:21 AM
Perhaps. I could really see something similar being true in the winter when it's so cold the bird wants to save body heat by tucking one leg up into its body. I would think hopping around on one leg would use more energy than just walking from point A to B. They must have excellent balance because I expend a lot of energy when I try to stand on one leg for an extended amount of time. :D

Katie Rupp
09-02-2008, 10:09 AM
Thanks for asking the question, Beth. I've wondered the same thing and I agree, hopping around on one leg is definitely more energy intensive for me!

frank harrison
09-03-2008, 01:44 PM
Hello Beth.