PDA

View Full Version : a gull

carole wiley
08-05-2008, 07:39 PM
I am not sure what kind of gull, laughing maybe? Northwest corner of CT isn't a hotbed for birds, I have a lot to learn. this was taken on a very foggy day. 40D 100-400 @ 400 f5.6 ISO 400 1/1600 Av eval +2/3. I love the splash of red among grays. I cloned out a dark streak and there is a slight crop here. Other than that I sharpened some, which I am not good at.

Lance Peters
08-05-2008, 09:29 PM
Hi Carole - I like the BG you have and also the tounge out pose. HA also looks good as does eye contact.

I added some sharpening and desaturated the reds a little, also went with a tight crop - may not be to everyones taste. (Did two rounds of sharpening with Arties settings 300/.3/1 - 200/.2/0)

Would be good to get some mmore detail out of the eye - sorry no time at the minute.

:)

Nonda Surratt
08-06-2008, 08:13 AM
Love the pose Carol! Lance, nice repost the extra bit of sharpening really helped

Stephen Cunliffe
08-06-2008, 10:33 AM
Yes indeed, a laughing gull, really yukking it up in this case!
Sharpening is about the only thing I can do, would love to know how, as Lance suggests, to bring out a bit of detail in the eye.
Stephen

Katie Rupp
08-06-2008, 10:38 AM
Great pose, good exposure job and lots of attitude, Carole. I think Lance's crop and pp really brought it home. I like it lots!

Nicki Gwynn Jones
08-06-2008, 12:42 PM
Hi Carole,
Great bird, great pose! I like the way that Lance has done the sharpening but I think that I prefer your crop.
Regards,
Nicki

Julie Kenward
08-06-2008, 02:26 PM
Cute little guy! Love the initial image but like the repost even better. The sharpening really brought it home!

Lance Peters
08-06-2008, 05:44 PM
Hi Stephen - lots of ways to do it - depending on what you have to work with to start with - lots of useful info in Arties "Art of Bird photography II".