PDA

View Full Version : A Different View...

Nicki Gwynn Jones
07-30-2008, 03:09 AM
Good Morning Everyone! ;)
I thought that this was a somewhat unusual view of a pelican' s bill....
400D 100-400mm @ 400
ISO 200
AV F8 1/200 sec
Exp comp 0.07
Look forward to your C&C's as always!!
Thanks!
Best regards to all,
Nicki

Doug Brown
07-30-2008, 03:12 AM
You've got a good eye Nicki! I like this one a lot. About the only thing I would do differently is go for more DOF; there's not quite enough in focus for my eye. I would have shot this at ISO 640 or 800 to increase my DOF. Still like it a bunch!

Nicki Gwynn Jones
07-30-2008, 06:11 AM
Hi Doug,
Many thanks for your kind words. I have a question regarding your comment about increasing the ISO to get more DOF. Please forgive my complete beginner's ignorance, but I didn't realise that I could alter my DOF this way - I thought that the only way to do this was to have a higher F number. Or have I just misunderstood you completely....:)
As always, I very much appreciate how much I am learning on this site!
Regards,
Nicki

Doug Brown
07-30-2008, 07:17 AM
Sorry about the confusion; I should have clarified myself. If you increase ISO (the sensor's sensitivity to light), you don't need as large an aperture to maintain the same exposure. For example, you will get identical exposures at f/2.8 and ISO 100, f/4 and ISO 200, f/5.6 and ISO 400, and f/8 at ISO 800 (this assumes a fixed shutter speed). In photography, a stop of light is a stop of light. In your photo, had you bumped your ISO 2 stops to ISO 800, you could have used an aperture that's 2 stops smaller. I hope this helps.

Alfred Forns
07-30-2008, 07:18 AM
Hi Nicki What Doug is talking about is using a higher ISO which will allow you a higher f stop at the same shutter speed !!!