PDA

View Full Version : Microbiology

Christopher Hill
07-19-2008, 04:49 PM
I was playing around with one of the microscopes at work and found an adapter that I could hook a camera to. These were some kidney cells that I looked at in two different wavelengths then merged the resulting images in Photoshop.

Canon EOS 1Ds III
Olympus microscope
0.6 seconds each image

Ed Vatza
07-19-2008, 05:34 PM
Actually I like it... but then I work in a lab! :D

Actually it works very well (in my mind) as an abstract. The color is great. The detail is very sharp. It has excellent depth. A real winner... as long as you don't go running around telling everyone that they are kidney cells.

Actually, I work in marketing in a lab and I am always after our pathologists to provide images like this for brochures that we do.

Julie Kenward
07-19-2008, 07:26 PM
I love it, too. Think it might look better as a vertical instead of a horizontal but no biggie. I'm with Ed, though...it looks cooler when you don't know what it is. :D:eek::D

Anita Rakestraw
07-20-2008, 03:38 AM
Very cool indeed - great macro! Is this the actual color or is there a stain involved? Oh, you said something about wavelengths - I assume that's responsible for the colors?? Thanks for posting, very interesting!

Mike Moats
07-20-2008, 09:34 AM
Hey Chris, a very cool abstract image. Even kidney cells can be art. I would lose the negative black space and crop tight into a vertical. Great shot.

Robert O'Toole
07-20-2008, 07:00 PM
Hi Chris,

Very cool. This reminds me of a hubble image of a nebula minus all the extra stars and bodies...

Since all the good points have already been mentioned, do you follow the annual Nikon microscope contest?

Robert

Christopher Hill
07-20-2008, 08:48 PM
Thanks for the great comments everyone!
Maybe I can think up an abstract name that doesn't hint at the cells' origins (I could use some help here as I've come up blank so far - ah - perhaps the Renal Nebulae? Or maybe not...