PDA

View Full Version : Playing with new techniques... Thanks to Andreas critique/help...

David Roach
04-28-2020, 10:22 PM
EOS R EF 400 DO I 1.4xtc II f8 1/800 ISO 160

Created this image last year in the Everglades National Park. The only place I've seen (second time only) the Great Blue Heron white morph. In critiquing a previous post and my explanation of sharpening technique, Andreas mentioned he never uses curve adjustments for contrast but prefers finer control with luminosity masks. So, this hobbyist has begun the journey to hopefully more nuanced and better controlled sharpening. In watching an online tutorial it was mentioned DxO Photolab automates the techniques and works for 99.9% of images. So, I downloaded the free evaluation suite, and used both the raw and final presentation sharpening for this image. I am a total newbie and haven't even watched the tutorials. I figured a white bird would be a good challenge.

As always, all comments, critiques and discussions welcomed and learned from. Please keep them coming.

arash_hazeghi
04-29-2020, 12:46 AM
Hi David, cool head shot, a slight angle towards us would have been ideal

the image has a blue look to it and the colors look a bit unnatural, especially the bill. that's not how an egret in evening light at everglades looks like..looks very cold .

Keep in mind many so called experts on the internet do not fully comprehend the concept of color correction and WB. Forcing the RGB values to be numerically equal on a neutral surface is not the right way to set the whites for images taken in natural light because our eyes and brains perceive things from the light that reflected rather than emitted from a subject. You can make something pure white from a colormetric mathematical point of view but that's not how human brain sees it.