PDA

View Full Version : Spotted Pardalote

Paul Burdett
07-19-2019, 01:36 AM
My wife and I spent 3 lovely nights at Montville (an hour north of Brisbane), and I was able to snap a few birds at a local rainforest park. I would have like this Spotted Pardalote to have been on a lower branch, but it was not going to be. It was very low light and so I had to use my 580EXii flash set to ETTL. I'm not an expert when it comes to flash, but I'm happy with this one.
Canon 7Dii, 100-400@371mm, 1/400th sec, f5.6, iso500 in manual mode. Feedback always appreciated and learned from. Thanks.

Jonathan Ashton
07-19-2019, 12:13 PM
I quite honestly never thought flash had been used, it didn't occur to me until I read your text. I lke the colours and exposure, the only thing for me is that you were pointing up to the subject, I appreciate you take what you are offered but looking uphill doesn't do it for me- sorry.

Krishna Prasad kotti
07-19-2019, 12:56 PM
Flash works well here to fill in the shadows.

Steep shooting angle does not work here.

TFS

Dorian Anderson
07-19-2019, 04:46 PM
Flash was a wise move, but the overhead shooting angle is really tough and leaves you with DOF issues; everything falls off from the eye. I'd add a bit more on the left side of the frame if you end up keeping this.

John Mack
07-19-2019, 09:12 PM
The flash looks well balanced. Pretty neat looking bird. Nothing you could do about the steep angle. Looks pretty nice background wise for shooting in the forest.

Paul Burdett
07-19-2019, 11:40 PM
Thanks all for the feedback. As I said, I would have liked the bird at eye height, but I'm still ok with the angle as is...I know others aren't.
Jonathan: I'm glad the flash wasn't overdone...some of Glenn Bartley's tips helped here.
Dorian: In regards to the crop, why do you feel it needs more on the LHS? (the original does have more)
Cheers.

Paul Burdett
07-20-2019, 12:46 AM