PDA

View Full Version : Short-billed Dowitcher

Jay Ing
01-24-2018, 02:17 AM
Today's grab. Not sure if this one has enough room, I had to add some canvas on the right but - .well, I'm not good at that yet really so...
Details: D850 + Sigma 500/4 with 1.4 TC, 1/3200, 5.6 (thin 6.3 or 7 would have been better), ISO 500, HH, C1P raw, PS CCC 2018 NR/SS Output.

Isaac Grant
01-24-2018, 06:36 AM
Beautiful forward wing position and details. Love the legs and feet. This is a super nice flight pose with great exposure. Water on the left edge and the top doesn't look natural. I'm guessing you extended canvas there and not the right? You can see some vertical lines on the left and horizontal on the top as well. If a content aware fill doesn't work try adding canvas and then using the nice smooth area on the right as a source for cloning. You can also put the background on its own layer and lower the opacity a bit. That helps smooth the transition zone. Sometimes you have to play with it. Meaning get a smooth transition and then do some blending as well. Bird is a Willet, not a dowitcher.

Jay Ing
01-24-2018, 11:22 AM
Thanks for the specific suggestions on improving this one. That's the helpful kind of info one seeks (well, its what is most meaningful to me) when posting here at bpn. I'll give those approached a go and repost... yeah, still learning the PP techniques... so hard to devote time to when all I want to do with my free time is... go shoot! :)

Oh, and thanks for the ID... Willet had to be something, just didn't know what.