PDA

View Full Version : Baby Raccoon

Shellie Dallas
06-23-2008, 04:44 PM
Hi everyone! I am new to BPN and about 1 year into my photography experience! I shot this recently with my Nikon D300, 70-200mm f/2.8, 1/80, f/2.8, 200mm, ISO1000. I know that I could have used more shutter speed but the lighting was poor, I didn't have my external flash with me, and I didn't like the same shot with an ISO of 1600. I was just happy to see this little guy!

Lance Peters
06-23-2008, 05:38 PM
Hi shellie - welcome to the BPN family - lots of freindly helpful people here.

I like your shot - love the two little eyes peering out of the tree.

I would Quick mask out the green leaves lower right hand corner.

And sharpen the eye's - the eyes are the primary point of contact - so you always want them looking as good as possible.

I d/l and sharpened the eyes - sorry didnt have time to remove the green leaves. Slight curve adjustment as well.

Lance

Shellie Dallas
06-23-2008, 05:41 PM
Thanks Lance! I tried sharpening the eyes..what route did u take??? I am getting to know CS3....how do I quick mask out the leaves and not affect the foot????

Lance Peters
06-23-2008, 05:51 PM
Hi Shellie - I recommend you get Robert O'tooles APTATS CD - it covers Quick Masks - its really great and quite simple.

Also I think there may be some help in the Educational Rescources forum on how to do it.

Basically
Open PS
Press q - for quick mask
press b - for brush (Change brush sizes with the bracket keys)
paint over the area you want to use
press - q
press - shift+ctrl+i

then move the new layer over to the part you want it to replace.

:)

Lnace

Shellie Dallas
06-23-2008, 05:57 PM
That does sound familiar! I will try!!! I will also check out the educational resource forum! Thanks again!

Nonda Surratt
06-23-2008, 06:03 PM
Welcome Shellie!

I love the scene,very baby raccoon, caught the essence. Lance nice fix! Also reco the CD above

Katie Rupp
06-23-2008, 11:31 PM