PDA

View Full Version : "She's Back"

David Salem
10-03-2017, 08:31 PM
This is the female Columbarius Merlin that I have been shooting for a few years now. She comes down to the exact same spot in sunny Southern California for the winter to feed on dragonflies.
She probably migrates to Canada to breed and rear young and then flies all the way back down here to feed on this easy prey in the fall.
She started coming here three years ago but due to the flooding we had last winter we didn't see her at all.
I was hoping she would return again and Sunday morning my buddy Glenn and I were stoked to see her back in the same spot hunting dragonflies. I hope she sticks around for a while.

1DX---600mm---f4.5---ISO1600---ss1/320th---Handheld from truck@8:45am---40% crop

Thanks as always for looking and for your input. I appreciate it.

David

Tim Foltz
10-03-2017, 08:46 PM
Dave, nice DOF for shooting at f/4.5, HA, BG and perch are sweet and the prey brings an extra PLUS to the shot.
I'll have to make it out there this year...

-Tim

David Salem
10-03-2017, 09:13 PM
Thanks Tim,
I normally don't shoot without my extender to often but the conditions were pretty dark and cloudy and I was trying to keep my ISO as low as possible. I removed my extender to keep the ISO down as low as I could. Notice the 1/320th shutter speed.
Yes I think that luckily the DOF @f4.5 did cover her pretty well.
I think it's going to be a good year this year so you got to get out here. Thanks again.

Glenn Pure
10-03-2017, 11:39 PM
Drop-dead gorgeous shot, David. Beautiful bird, pose, perch and background nicely rounded off with an effective composition. The dragonfly is a bonus. Processing is excellent with great detail, tone and colour. Magnificent.

arash_hazeghi
10-03-2017, 11:59 PM
wonderful shot Dave, you guys are lucky with this frequent visitor, see you soon buddy!

William Dickson
10-04-2017, 10:51 AM