PDA

View Full Version : Behind The Arch

Don Lacy
11-16-2015, 06:30 PM
Not sure about this one its a little un orthodox when it comes to the composition would be interested in what you guys think about it. This image was made at Broken Arch on the morning a front was coming through my shooting companions had a better spot of just the canyon and some nice foreground boulders I decided to look for something different and used the side of the arch to create depth to the image.

Canon 6D, 16-35 at 16mm, two image hand blended

Don Railton
11-16-2015, 07:00 PM
Hi Don

The sky is nice and the FG has interest but that big discontinunity through the middle (the arch) is not working for me. Eye gets trapped on the RHS of image ... I would crop this to remove the sky RHS side of the image and also a little more off the bottom, maybe lift the exposure on the arch just a tad..

DON.

David Cowling
11-17-2015, 06:43 AM
Hello Don. I studied the image before reading the comments but I also agree that the sky at RH is taking my eye away from the main part of the image, although I am undecided as to exactly where the crop should be. If the whole part of the sky is cropped out it leaves the image looking squeezed. The techs are very good with a beautifully exposed sky. I like the way that the sun is just catching the underside of the clouds and adding that wonderful colour.

Rachel Hollander
11-18-2015, 08:09 AM
Hi Don - Beautiful sky and colors. You've brought out nice detail in the rocks. My first thought upon opening the image and before reading the comments was also that I would have tried shooting this with the arch as my right edge. Perhaps you experimented with ones that way too.

TFS,
Rachel

Jerry van Dijk
11-19-2015, 04:14 PM