PDA

View Full Version : Bascule Bridge and marsh flowers.

David Cowling
10-05-2015, 04:02 PM
Beautiful wild flowers growing on the mud flats this year.

Panasonic LX 100. Tripod.
1/15 sec @ f 11. ISO 200

gail bisson
10-05-2015, 06:14 PM
Very nice David.
I am not a landscape expert so you will comment only on the aesthetics of the image.
I like the sky and the bridge as presented.Nice to see the bridge in the top third of the image. Gives a nice composition.
Did you raise the exposure on the flowers in PP? They are very pretty but seem unnaturally exposed- correct me if I am wrong!
Gail

Don Railton
10-05-2015, 11:16 PM
Hi David

I prefer this composition over the previous..Beautiful flowers.. I think I would prefer this image with a little less contrast and a little brighter overall or especially so in the FG.

David Cowling
10-06-2015, 04:51 AM
Thanks Gail and Don. You are correct Gail, I had to bring the foreground exposure up quite a bit as even with a 2 stop ND grad over the sky it was not quite enough and I wanted to preserve the highlights. Don , I have done a RP with your suggestions.
One of my biggest processing problems has been my monitor, I have been using a 10 year old standard computer monitor and even though I have kept it calibrated using a Spyder 3 Elite system it was obviously not up to the job. I have now invested in a dedicated Photographic 155937Image processing monitor and the difference is like night and day.

Don Railton
10-06-2015, 11:20 PM
Hi David

I have just been down that road, and I agree. Good monitor is so important.... It seems silly to spend so much on the best camera lenses and equipment, then look at the results on a $100 monitor..

Rachel Hollander
10-07-2015, 07:46 AM