PDA

View Full Version : Theme Hello world!

Ákos Lumnitzer
09-24-2015, 07:18 AM
Sorry, I've been very busy for a little while hence the lack of participation.

This is the young of a pair of Powerful Owls I've been observing for the past two years. It's the first time the owlet managed to crawl up to the edge of the nest hollow in the winter of 2013.
I was fortunate to be accepted by the parents and have spent over 125 hours now making observations and a few photos over two nesting seasons. This year (2015) there was no l'amour that I could see.
The nest area was quiet. I guess they are possibly taking a break.

5DMkII, 500/4L IS + 2x
Manual mode, ISO 2000, f/11, 1/60th
580EXII with beamer, set to +2/3EC
Just about full frame.

I was shooting some video and had that set to ISO 3200, and I was meant to go back to 1600, but missed a click.

gail bisson
09-24-2015, 11:29 AM
What a wonderful owlet.
Just love the face with the gray "spectacles".
I have never seen this species on BPN before and I have a feeling this is a special find.
Exposure is perfect and the whites really show it. Flash work looks good.
I am OK with the prominent tree branches but man this would have been super amazing if the tree branch on the RHS wasn't there.
Because this is full frame you could crop to a vertical and clone out what was left of the branch. Would be easy with the black BG.
Congrats on your hard work and field savvy for finding these owls and their family.
I hope you don't mind but just for fun I cropped this as a vertical and cloned out the branch. This is a quick and dirty job but gives you an idea of what I am thinking of.

Sidharth Kodikal
09-24-2015, 03:01 PM
Amazing looking bird and check out those gigantic gleaming talons! Excellent stare and exposure and details. I can see what Gail is saying, but I don't mind the branches too much and prefer the OP. Gail, I'm guessing the copyright on the repost was unintentional :)