PDA

View Full Version : Le Gour Bleu falls (France)

Jerry van Dijk
08-23-2015, 03:26 PM
During our summer holidays, we followed a river through a gorge with 7 waterfalls. I'm especially proud of this capture, because there were about 50 people at this waterfall either trying to get under it or photograph it. A good lesson in excersizing patience (and no, I didn't clone anyone out!). The falling water isn't as blurred as I liked, because I had not tripod with me so I couldn't use the ND filter.
I tried a version where I dodged to falling water to make it more white, but decided I liked this subdued version better. I'm totally new to waterfall photography, so any C&C is welcome!

D7000, Tamron 16-300 @ 16mm, handheld , ISO-200, f/10, 1/5 sec (great IS, this lens!), -0.7 EV. Minor PP.

Don Railton
08-23-2015, 06:57 PM
Hi Jerry..

This is a very nice image.. I love the composition and the scene... Has a nice feel to it, like you would like to be there... So, if it were mine I would use luminosity masks to tackle the bright FG rocks Lower LC to lower the brightness there just a little more and also with a different mask lift the dark shadow just to the right of the fall. Just a little for both but for me that would help. I have a feeling you might have worked on these areas already however, maybe you pushed as far as you felt comfortable?

DON

Jerry van Dijk
08-24-2015, 12:48 AM
Thanks Don. I did work on the shadows already and felt that the image started to look a little flat if I opened them up too much, and reduced the focus on the falling water. I'm on a different screen now and see here that the shadows are quite a bit darker than on my calibrated monitor, which doesn't look good. I'll try working on those FG rocks.

Don Railton
08-24-2015, 03:56 AM