PDA

View Full Version : Hummingbird Moth, still chasing a better catch!

Warren Spreng
08-17-2015, 04:52 PM
I was out watering some flowers when I thought I noticed a rather large wasp darting among the flowers. Finally saw it for what it was and ran in and grabbed my camera and without checking settings I just started shooting away! I usually see these at least once a year so I didn't want to miss a chance to catch a picture of one. I should have laid down flat on the ground but it kept darting among the flowers so I needed to be mobile! These are two of the better shots. I like the first because it shows the furry back and the second one shows the head better. I'll keep my eyes open for another opportunity as I would love to grab one at a higher SS and approaching a flower rather than in it!! Canon T3i, Canon 60mm macro, HH, AF, ISO 800, 1/1000, f/11. Early morning sun at my back, clear skies. Did some cloning of OOF flowers but little else. Their wings never stop and they are rapid!!

Jonathan Ashton
08-19-2015, 06:01 AM
Well caught with a good focus and DOF, I agree the surroundings are not ideal but I am sure sometime the moth will land on the right flower. Have you tried attracting them with sugar water or something like that?

Warren Spreng
08-19-2015, 05:03 PM
Well caught with a good focus and DOF, I agree the surroundings are not ideal but I am sure sometime the moth will land on the right flower. Have you tried attracting them with sugar water or something like that?

Thanks Jonathan, I have not seen them attracted to the feeder. I may try a flower with some sugar water introduced to see if that will bring them in.

Diane Miller
08-19-2015, 08:41 PM
Jeez, this thing is HUGE if those are standard petunias! Good work -- would love to see if you can catch it with a better opportunity! Well done for spur of the moment shots.

Warren Spreng
08-20-2015, 06:02 AM