PDA

View Full Version : Basilica Orb Weaver (Mecynogea lemniscata) & web

Douglas Bolt
07-09-2015, 05:11 PM
Canon 5DM3, Sigma 150mm macro, f3.2, 1/320s, ISO 400, Cam Ranger, CC to create tif files, Helicon to stack the 71 tiff files, and back to CC to crop and sharpen.

The web of this spider is really fascinating to me. So very intricate. There are several similar webs in a Hinoki cypress shrub. The spider is about 1cm and the web about 15cm wide.

There are several places where the image has a smudged look and other areas that seem to lack data. I'm new to focus stacking, so advice would certainly be appreciated. I took the images with the Cam Ranger set to Medium. If I get another windless day, I'll try using the Small setting. The detail is much more apparent in a larger pixel image saved at much higher Quality setting.

Diane Miller
07-10-2015, 11:29 AM
Amazing! The web looks like cheesecloth. This looks like a difficult image to stack but the result was worthwhile. Hope you get chances to keep working it.

I'd consider reducing the yellows a bit, although the impact is very eye-catching.

MiroslavMaric
07-10-2015, 03:15 PM
Hi Douglas,