PDA

View Full Version : Wild Iris

Andy Goris
05-31-2015, 02:23 PM
This was taken in my pasture. In addition to feedback on the image, I'm interested in more information on the discussion of natural history image on another iris picture in this forum. That other picture was unbelievably gorgeous, and has me excited to learn focus stacking. What qualifies as a natural history image, and when would this be important? I couldn't find a description on this site, but I'm just learning my way around the site.

Technique:
ISO-100 (the specks in white petal structure are from the petal, not sensor noise), 1/160 sec, f/13. Plant is in its natural setting in the pasture - they grow wild here. I trimmed grass behind the flower so the background was further away and more out of focus. Otherwise it's a natural background. I focused using live-view with zoom and left the camera in live-view for minimal shake. I waited for the wind to die down and some clouds to cover the sun, then used a Canon 600EX-RT wireless flash with Lumiquest 7.5x8.5 diffusor attached. I held the flash in my hand and triggered the Canon 5D Mark III with a wireless remote shutter release. I used a Plamp II to steady the bloom. I nearly destroyed the bloom when I forgot to unhook the Plamp from the stem before moving the tripod. I previously ordered a Plamp stake that arrives tomorrow, so in the future the Plamp will be attached to the stake, not the tripod. The tripod had short metal spikes which really helped, and center column reversed to get the camera down low. The 100mm f/2.8L Canon Macro had a lens collar, which is an important feature when shooting with a center column reversed and the head is upside down.