PDA

View Full Version : Damselfly battle?

Diane Miller
05-09-2015, 09:01 PM
I'm new to dragonflies and damselflies, and was very surprised to see this. I'll post a sequence of three in the Story Sequences forum.

Canon 7D2, 100-400 II with 1.4X III, handheld at 560mm. ISO 1600, f/11, 1/1000 sec. Very basic LR adjustments and a very small amount of smart Sharpen on the resized JPEG.

John Robinson
05-09-2015, 09:33 PM
Diane
These damsels are in what is known as "tandem"- the mating position. They normally fly around,rest or lay eggs like this but your pair seem to have got a little excited ! Interesting and well excecuted shot anyway.
They look like members of our Ishnura group
John

Diane Miller
05-09-2015, 10:57 PM
I assumed they were both males -- the few I have seen "coupled" (or whatever the term) and ovipositing, the F has been more brownish.

Had to look up Ishnura group, then had a grand laugh at myself. Thought it referred to something kinky that YOU were involved in. :e3

John Robinson
05-10-2015, 07:57 AM
Diane
Oh dear !!
Not at my age !
If theywere fighting it would be more face to face. Did you find anything when you looked it up ?

John

Diane Miller
05-10-2015, 08:48 AM
I didn't have time for extensive searching, but it does appear from some small pictures that the F is also blue -- maybe the tan-brown ones I saw ovipositing about a week ago had just emerged? They're so small I hadn't paid much attention to them in past years with my longer lenses, as the not-very-close close focus distance didn't render enough magnification. The new 100-400 on a crop body is another story, though! With a 1.4X on, it's almost a macro lens.

This encounter seems odd, though. I lost them in the lens and when I looked up I didn't see the one that had been pushed underwater. But then it might have just flown off. Maybe someone can provide more information. Maybe he was just overzealous. I wouldn't be surprised if steroids get into our water...

Gabriela Plesea