PDA

View Full Version : Prairie Dog Portrait

Dennis Behn
03-28-2015, 11:09 PM
Out shooting prairie dogs the other day and I noticed in a couple of shots how a big hole, produced an out of focus rim in front of the dog. Sooo I got as low as my tripod would allow and as close to a hole as I could get and waited. This guy showed his head... very close to full frame.

Canon 1Dx
600 f4II with 2xIII at 1200mm
1/1000sec, f11, ISO 400

Rachel Hollander
03-29-2015, 07:43 AM
Hi Dennis - this works very well. We don't get a lot of prairie dog posts so this gives some nice diversity to the forum too. Techs look good with nice dof, sharpness and details. I hope you'll post more Wildlife images.

TFS,
Rachel

Steve Canuel
03-29-2015, 11:10 AM
Nice low angle with good, sharp detail. Always interesting to see how clean they stay given they live in the dirt.

Dennis Behn
03-29-2015, 03:35 PM
Rachel, thanks for your comments. I'm not too good with computers and it took me 2 years to figure out how to post a picture! Now I'm trying to figure out how to respond to people so I hope I get this right. Thanks for your nice invite to post more...

Gabriela Plesea
03-29-2015, 03:44 PM
Hello Dennis - you've got to find a way to return to Wildlife with more images:bg3:, just hit "post quick reply" for now and give us your thoughts...My thoughts are - this is one lovely capture of a Prairie Dog and well processed too - sharp where it counts, colours look natural and overall a pleasant close-up of this lovely chap! Looks like our Brand's Whistling Rat in the Kalahari:) Very cute and probably even cuter when he twitches his nose, love it, more please!!!

Wishing you a pleasant week ahead,

Dennis Behn
03-30-2015, 12:19 AM