PDA

View Full Version : Double Arch in Twilight

Don Lacy
03-23-2015, 10:04 PM
This is my first attempt at light painting and trying to capture the night sky and it was not something I had plan on doing but we were at the arch and my friend had a powerful flashlight on him so we gave it a try and it turn out better then I expected. I have other images shot when the light completely faded from the sky that have more stars but I like the blue of the sky in this image. Any processing tips on how to better capture and process night sky images will be appreciated.

6D, 16-35 f/4 IS at 17mm, 20s at f/4, Manual Exposure, ISO 3200

Don Railton
03-23-2015, 11:14 PM
Hi Don,

This has a nice 3D feel to it and is quite spectacular, good stuff.. and I too love the blue sky. There is a blue spot on the rock just left of center bottom of frame that catches my eye... Thats about the only tip I can give you I think...

DON

dankearl
03-23-2015, 11:33 PM
Don, nice work, well processed and noise free.
I might just try some other WB settings.
I am always surprised at what a simple change can do.....

Dvir Barkay
03-24-2015, 01:14 AM
http://cdn.makeagif.com/media/3-24-2015/IeC8Qu.gif (http://makeagif.com/IeC8Qu)

Hope you don't mind a I made a GIF file to better highlight my changes. Really nice shot Don, I think it is a bit too cool, I used color balance in photoshop to to add +5 yellows and +3 reds, also added a bit of contrast and micro contrast selectively to the arches. Otherwise awesome shot and attempt! If the GIF is annoying I can remove it, just know Art uses them a lot and it can sometimes help better see the changes like in photoshop clicking the alt key (windows) to hide all layers so that one can see the changes made to the original.

Don Lacy
03-24-2015, 07:06 PM
Thanks Dvir I like what you did.

Diane Miller
03-24-2015, 09:44 PM