PDA

View Full Version : Scarlet Morning #2

Don Lacy
03-12-2015, 12:26 PM
This image has been sitting on my screen for over a week i have stepped away from it numerous times I have deleted it and started completely over at least three times and still not sure if I have made the right processing decisions. First off it's a three image hand blend using luminosity mask that I am still learning how to do properly that took days to get right. Then I wasn't happy with the tonal balance and color balance so this morning I just said to **** with it it is what it is right now lets just post it and see how it is excepted. I have been doing a lot of research and watching tutorials on PS processing wanting to take my images to the next level and which is often the case when you learn something new I want to throw every trick and technique I learn into every image so now I have to find the balance between over processing and my artistic vision. Another issue I am having with my last two images are the technical and artistic aspects of capturing one of the most amazing skies I have ever photograph there was over nine stops between the foreground and sun plus the rest of the sky fell somewhere in the middle thus the need for a three image blend. So here it is it was an amazing morning and I hope this image captures some of it as always you thoughts and critics will be greatly appreactied
Canon 6D, 16-35 f/4 IS, Manual Mode, Evaluative Metered, tripod,

Jackie Schuknecht
03-12-2015, 04:21 PM
Well I think it is beautiful! I love the colours and those craggy rocks in the fg. The clouds on the diagonal add to the left to right flow in the image. Just wonder if you are getting a halo from CA on the rock on the top left. Quite stunning!

Don Lacy
03-12-2015, 05:14 PM