PDA

View Full Version : Lens for Bird Photography

Bela Forgo
01-02-2015, 03:37 PM
Hello,

I need some help about lens. I am new on this forum, but read a lot. I work as a wedding and event photographer, just to get in view with my gears, I have Canon 7D, 6D and my main tele is 70-200/2.8L IS II USM + Canon 2xII and Kenko PRO 300 2x.
Birds are my hobby, I like them very much, but I am absolute beginner in birds photography. I usually shoot with the 7D of course, there is an option to upgrade to 7DM2 at the end of summer, but before that I woudl like to upgrade to a larger telephoto lens.

Here is the lens on my list:
- Canon 300/4L IS USM (with the 2xII already have)
- Canon 400/5.6L USM (maybe +1.4x)
- Tamron 150-600

I know that it is hard to compare prime lens and zooms, but now I can accept any option to find a good starter lens for birds :)
I often shoot birds in my garden on the bird feeders, but when I go outside, it would be better to have a larger lens.

The most important priority for me is to reach more than 400mm (which I have now with the 70-200+2x). There is a lot pro about the Tamron 150-600. I saw a lot of beautiful shoots with that. It is even good at 600mm also. Zoom is also good for me, beacuse I really used to that about my job and I could use the tamron in my works also. But on the other hand canon have 300mm and 400mm lens nearly my budget, so the question stands that can those be 'better' than the tamron? I also mean the IQ and usage. Can the IQ of these primes beats the tamron? Maybe with MarkIII extender instead of MarkII? Or if I like zooms better, can be the tamron a good starter lens for 1-2 years until I can go further with upgrade?

Many thanks and Happy New Year! :))

Loi Nguyen
01-02-2015, 09:22 PM
I have seen some pretty good shots of birds perching with the Tamron. I hear AF is a bit slow flor flight, but I don't own it.