PDA

View Full Version : Selective Noise Reduction Software

Kuzey Cem Kulaço?lu
12-03-2014, 10:37 AM
Hi everyone, I am a young birdwatcher and photographer from Turkey. I have just joined this site. I will post an introduction.
For now, however, I would like to consult you with a problem that has really bothered me: Noise. Of course everyone has this problem, and it is impossible to make it disappear; but you can always reduce it with noise reduction software.
I have been using Neat Image for a few days now. It is good and all but when I apply noise reduction, there is a great loss of detail too. That's why I'm on the lookouts for a software that can separate the foreground from background and apply noise reduction to the former.
I use an iMac with OS Mavericks installed. Oddly enough; I can't upload photoshop or lightroom, so those are not options. I have used Photoshop Elements 13 for a while and I am satisfied, but I think there are some better ones out there.
Thanks already!

Diane Miller
12-03-2014, 11:37 AM
Hi Kuzey - welcome to BPN! We look forward to seeing your work!

PS and LR will run with Mavericks, but maybe the issue is with the computer. Is there enough hard disk space? Enough memory? Video driver issues? Unfortunately as software becomes more sophisticated, hardware lags behind. But Elements is an adequate place to start.

Neat Image usually does a good job for me of reducing noise in areas without detail, while still retaining detail in busy areas. But any NR program can go too far, especially if the original shot had a lot of noise. You can run it on a duplicate layer and mask it out where the effect is too strong. I also use Nik's Dfine, which often gives a similar result to Neat Image, but sometimes one is better than the other. The key is to have low noise to start with. Exposing to the right will help a lot -- bringing exposure down in post helps minimize noise while bringing it up will magnify noise.