PDA

View Full Version : Yawn! and story

Blake Shadle
05-24-2008, 01:31 PM
Well, I took an unexpected trip out to Ft. Desoto this morning... I'm glad I did! It's been a while since I've been able to get down and dirty and really create my favorite style of image. I've been using manual focus for the past 6 months, and you learn a few things when you do this. The importance of Depth of Field is one, and the importance of good eye sight is another. My eye sight isn't what it used to be (stupid computers ;) :D)... Relying on my eye to manually focus and create a sharp image was failing me.

The images before this series are soft... not out of focus, but not sharp. I was determined to keep working with this subject and create what I felt was a good image. I lifted the 500 (laying on my stomach) to get a better angle, and starting using the green "focus acquired" dot in my viewfinder to determine whether my subject was sharp. At that moment this Wilson's Plover decided to yawn... I was ready. My heart raced, firing 8 frames per second, hoping that my new trick hadn't failed me as my eyes had.

Many know that I'm not typically a "story teller"... but today was a difficult realization for me, and creating this image despite limitations means a lot to me.

Thanks for listening, and looking ;)

Shooting Solution
Camera: Nikon D300
Lens: Sigma 500 f/4.5
Manual Exposure, 1/800 @ f/8, ISO 400
Hand held while lying in the sand

Mats Honkamaa
05-24-2008, 01:40 PM
Nice story and nice picture. Its these kind of action-shots that stands out from ordinary bird-photos. Great work!

Grace Scalzo
05-24-2008, 01:49 PM
Blake, a lovely, complete image, love the yawn, the beautiful bg, and the seaweed pile. You work very hard at your art, and the results are evident. I too have been having some focus issues (Age, computers, fatigue,etc.) and rely sometimes on the green dot. It helps me. Appreciate you sharing ... bet your abs got a good workout,too.

Van Hilliard
05-24-2008, 01:49 PM