PDA

View Full Version : Pinnacles Night sky..

Don Railton
09-23-2014, 09:12 AM
Hi Guys<o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>This is my first attempt at processing a night sky image. I found it tricky because the camera can capture way more information than you can actually see... so how do you present something that you can barely see..? So, I am not sure its right but that's why I'm posting here...:bg3: tell me what you think.. I can say nothing has been added. It was taken last weekend away with the Camera club I belong to, at the same location as my previous post.

<o:p></o:p>I used a 1D4 and a Zeiss distagon 18mm F3.5 lens wide open. I had to bump the ISO up to 8000 at 20 sec exposure to get the following image. When I had the shutter open a car started up and turned its headlights on and I said rude words, but once the exposure was complete I found that the pinnacles were nicely lite up.. so, apologies Mr. car driver... The image is full frame. Processing was with ACR in CS6, setting WB as daylight and then adjusting the dark & light levels to just below clipping. I then imported into CS6, masked out the FG and darkened that slightly (those headlights..), and then adjusted the sky with a curves layer to what I thought looked ok. A little NR using the NIK package and all done..

DON

Jerry van Dijk
09-23-2014, 09:57 AM
Wow, the astro take on this really puts the image over the top! I think the stars as well as the car lights add to the magical atmosphere of this place, and was well captured here. My only remark would be to cut of the pinnacle sticking in from the right.

Rachel Hollander
09-24-2014, 06:13 AM
Hi Don - I think this looks great. I still struggle with getting the sharpness I want with night skies. The headlights did add to the image. The only thing I don't like is the half pinnacle on the rhs. Overall, well done.

TFS,
Rachel

Don Railton
09-24-2014, 06:59 AM
Hi Rachel and Jerry,