PDA

View Full Version : Mock Strawberry

Ron Conlon
07-06-2014, 02:15 PM
Duchesnea indica or Potentilla indica--different genus from the true strawberry--originally from Asia, now invasive in the US.
I have had a go at stacking, this is a Photoshop stack of 10 images if a through-focus series. The key seemed to be a very tight series of photos with very small differences in level of focus--barely touching the lens, I can see why folks who do it a lot use a slider with a micrometer screw.
Lightbox with remote flash, tripod, D5100 200mm f/9 1/200s ISO 100

John Robinson
07-07-2014, 05:23 AM
Interesting shot, and I love black backgrounds !!
Stacking is great fun. A macro slider can be a devil in disguise !. I have been playing with stacking for several years now and there are a couple of points worth remembering. I use CZM - always have. the rail system moves the camera as opposed to using the lens focus ring-which I do. I did get a couple of sliders a while back but had problems. The camera is quite heavyand this means there can be jerkiness in the rack and pinion movement.. Thats what I found anyway but they were relatively cheap at about £20 each. You can get automated setups which are very expensive. I think its more fun to do it manually- more sense of achievement so to speak! As Ron says you need to keep your hand off the focus ring when actually snapping. It comes with practice. My problem has always come from slight movement.. The best definition is always supposed to be about two stops down from fully open. It certainly makes a difference. Very often at thre distances I work as an example, I have a DOF at f5.6 of one to three mm. That gives you an odea of how many "planess" of focus you need to get all your subject covered.
Happy stacking snapping !!
JohnR
PS there is CZM and CZP- both free.

Ron Conlon
07-07-2014, 06:12 AM