PDA

View Full Version : ISO advice

Joe Galkowski
06-01-2014, 07:31 PM
Hi,

Although I am an experienced photographer, I have been away from the field for many years, unless of course you count my kids' soccer tournaments and track meets.

I just joined here and I am struck by how most members seem to push shutter speeds very high. Remember that I came from using 50 speed film and very picky magazine editors. It just stuns me to see 1/2000s at ISO 1000. I have been shooting digital since it was viable and I have watched the progress made in terms of noise, but I always kept my ISO setting at 100 - 400, or lower, for optimal quality. Even in the sport of soccer you can freeze most subject motion at 1/500 s. Even most larger bird flight shots will be sharp at that speed too.

So, what am I missing? Is it the desire to handhold, no one prints large, editors don't mind the noise, the desire to get a higher percentage of keepers, or people just shoot for internet sharing. Is there no market anymore that folks sell their work to that insists on super high IQ with no noise or loss of detail from noise reduction?

Please let me know what I am missing. This is a real question as I am now questioning all my old habits. Thanks.

DickLudwig
06-01-2014, 07:39 PM
Joe, what camera(s) are you using?
All cameras are not created equal when it comes to pushing ISO.

arash_hazeghi
06-01-2014, 08:15 PM
Most folks value IQ highly here. I think you are out of touch with the latest digital cameras. ISO 1000 is not really high these days.

Years of evolution has enabled pro bodies with large sensors such as the 1DX coupled with superior optics to produce fine art quality results at ISOs higher than 3200, even when printed large. These results were not even imaginable 10 years ago. The low end camera models with small low cost sensors do struggle when it comes to low light and high ISO, but they all can handle up to ISO 800 at least.

Joe Galkowski
06-02-2014, 01:10 AM