PDA

View Full Version : 1D IV & 400 5.6?

Paul Keeble
05-25-2014, 09:09 AM
I have been using a 7D with a 400 5.6 for a while now and am looking at my next upgrade.

I do love flight photography and am considering a second hand 1D IV as an upgrade, because of the much improved AF capabilities (or so I hear)

Is this worth it with my current lens or would I be better off saving my money for a bigger upgrade? (could be years!)

I know I'll lose some reach but obviously not as much as going to full frame. Will the crop difference affect quality a great deal?

I'm just an amateur who enjoys himself, not looking to sell stuff or win comps, just get some great pictures for my own enjoyment.
Cheers for any advice.

Diane Miller
05-25-2014, 02:18 PM
With rumors of a 7D II coming out soon, that might be an option to compare to the 1D IV. One frustration for many of us is that so many new features seem geared to video. Will be interesting to see what the 7D II will be.

adrian dancy
05-25-2014, 05:53 PM
I pretty much agree with Diane's comment. Your current lens is still a very fine lens and the whilst the 7D is a generation behind in terms of technology it is still no slouch.

Marina Scarr
05-25-2014, 06:35 PM
The good thing about the 1D4 with the 400 5.6 is that you can use the 1.4 & 2.0 TC and still get AF and it gives you quite a bit more reach. I just used this combination this morning.

Paul Keeble
05-26-2014, 06:29 AM
The good thing about the 1D4 with the 400 5.6 is that you can use the 1.4 & 2.0 TC and still get AF and it gives you quite a bit more reach. I just used this combination this morning.

I'd be very interested to see the results of that combination.
In my head I was going to wait for a second hand 300 2.8 II before exploring more reach with TC's, I assumed the 400 5.6 would not perform well with a TC.

Arthur Morris
05-26-2014, 08:33 AM
First off, Marina was a bit off: no AF at f/11 with the 400 5.6/1D IV/2X III TC combo....