PDA

View Full Version : Denoise

William Dickson
05-22-2014, 05:31 PM
I recently bought a Canon 5D Mkiii after using the 7D. I had lots of noise issues whilst using the 7D, but, since purchasing the 5D Mkiii I have discovered that I can now use a high ISO and still get decent IQ.

I captured the attached image with my 5D Mkiii, Canon f/2.8 300mm with 1x4iii attached.

f/4
1/2500
ISO 3200

It is a big crop, I used Topaz Denoise 5, and sharpened the Robin slightly, I intentionally used the high ISO setting.

The weather was fairly dull at the time.

What do you guys think on this issue.

Ian Wilson
05-23-2014, 12:13 AM
Hi William,
You raise a very interesting subject which I suspect has been discussed many times before in this forum. Recovering signal from noise is a huge subject and I am no expert but I suggest the efficacy of the various techniques boils down to (a) how faithfully the recovered signal resembles the original and (b) the amount of residual noise. I would be happy if the recovered signal appeared to be artifact and noise free when output on the device for which one prepared the image. In the case of your example, a 366 kB file 1024 x 682 pixels, prepared for viewing on a computer screen, (a) and (b) are reasonably well achieved. There are no obvious artifacts, though I suspect there is some loss of fine detail, and there is no obvious noise problem. Overall the image does appear a bit 'soft' which could be a combination of (a) and (b) or it might just need a bit more sharpening.