PDA

View Full Version : Lens choices

Paul Bromley
05-18-2014, 11:33 AM
Hi All,

New forum member hoping for some advice. I am thinking about upgrading my lens combos to give me more flexibility and length, let me explain …..
I have a Nikon D7100 and the 300mm F4 and 1.4tc combo which I handhold and walk or use a monopod, as a fledgling bird photographer my results range from dreadful to not too bad LOL !
Reasoning that I should get more length, I have thought about getting the 300mm F2.8 VR (either the first or new version) and the 1.7 or 2TC with maybe a tripod and gimbal mount for the 2TC combo. Before I jump and spend the cash does this make sense and would I maybe be better getting a larger lens altogether and keeping my current lenses as they are ?
I am sure this has been asked a thousand times for which I apologise but before I write the cheque would appreciate some input.

Good wishes

Paul.

John Rowell
05-18-2014, 12:20 PM
Welcome to the forum, looking forward to seeing some of your images. I'm not sure I completely understand your question. Why would you go from a 300 f4 to a 300 f2.8 to get more reach? They are the same focal length, and you are only picking up an f-stop of light. As for the teleconverters, I have used the 1.4 and 1.7 and really prefer the 1.4 most of the time. I've never shot the 2.0, but have heard that a lot of people are disappointed with it.

Paul Bromley
05-18-2014, 12:57 PM
Hi John,

Thanks for your reply I had a notion to get the 300 f2.8 and use it with the 2.oTC3 to give me effectively 600mm or in effect anything from 300 to 600 depending on which TC I fitted I had read the F4 is only really good with the 1.4. It may be I go for a longer lens altogether and keep my current not too bulky set up. It may be I look for a nearly new 400mm 2.8 there seems so many options and as I can only afford to do this once wanted to get it right ! Best wishes.

John Rowell
05-18-2014, 01:19 PM
Paul,