PDA

View Full Version : Exposure Settings

Fred Woodman
05-09-2014, 08:44 AM
I am fairly new to this world of bird photography,particularly BIF, ONE of the biggest challenges i have found is getting the correct exposure for maximum detail on the birds themselves. I have read many posts here and they have been helpful. Realizing that time and experience will play a big role but being 54 I was hoping a few pointers and suggestions would help me move faster up the learning curve.:e3

Diane Miller
05-09-2014, 11:09 AM
The histogram is an exposure meter on steroids. Get a good histogram at capture and learn to massage the tonalities in raw processing and then in Photoshop.

But if detail is the concern, then equally important factors are tack sharp focus, high enough shutter speed and lens quality. And you need to get close enough to the subject to minimize cropping and the softness that results from particles in the air and heat waves, which can be a significant factor at telephoto lengths.

Fred Woodman
05-09-2014, 11:48 AM
Thx , I have gathered up good gear, processing is a bit new to me but I am working at it. I am an amateur going back to film days. Tack sharp focus can be elusive but I am getting better. I picked up a used 1D mark iv, I'm still learning the functions and working thru the better focus modes for BIF. I am currently in Florida on vacation so I have been practicing, my goal being to be able to dial in my settings and have a higher keeper rate. I currently use manual mode, 1/2000 , F4 auto ISO. ( Pelicans, Osprey Skimmers etc) I am going this way due to varying BG. I use a 300 f2.8 lens. Mostly hand held. The trade off is occasional added noise from high ISO in shade versus blown highlights from over exposure. Got to say this BIF is cerebral if nothing else..

Jim Neiger
05-09-2014, 12:59 PM
Fred,