PDA

View Full Version : 40D or 1D Mk111

Jonathan Michael Ashton
05-17-2008, 08:44 AM
I currrently own a 20D
I have just been given a latest version Mk3 with the latest software, I will have it for about 5 days, I am expecting it not to give AF problems (I hope). My initial reaction is WOW what a beauty!
A few weeks ago I used a 40D and was amazed at the performance.
If I like the Mk3 could anyone please summarise the BIG benefits it would give over the 40D. My main interests are bird photography and macro work and I intend to get to grips with some landscapes before too long.

Will it for example produce noticeably less noisy images?
Will it make a big difference that the no of shots per sec is higher? (I doubt it but you may disagree)
There is a three fold difference in price and I am not a professional photographer so I am wondering of the Mk3 would be overkill for me. (Weather proofing not an issue for me)
I suspect AF at f8 will be very useful but at a price!

I am also advised that the next new camera - the 50D may be worthwhile waiting for as Canon will have probably caught up with Nikon on the producing relatively noise free images at high ISO - any views on this too please.

Thanks Jon

Rene A
05-17-2008, 01:01 PM
Hi Michael,

I have had my MarkIII since July 2007...If I had to do it all over again I would NOT buy it again..MarkIII is a Beta Version Camera Model. Every few months Canon issues a patch & the patch courses new problems. I you are happy with a 40D don't waste you money on a MarkIII maybe an "N" version of this model will be better in future.

Renate

Axel Hildebrandt
05-17-2008, 01:14 PM
I think you should try them both if you can and compare the image quality. The 1D3 images are much less noisy as far as I can tell. The higher frame rate is nice for birds in flight or motion but the 6 fps the 40D has, are not bad either. The 1.6x crop sensor might come in handy if you photograph small birds and/or birds you can't get close to.

Rene A