PDA

View Full Version : Theme Elephant Seal in Falkland Islands

Nancy Bell
04-03-2014, 06:09 PM
I dip my toe into this theme with great trepidation. I have not experimented with B&W conversions and look to this as a way to learn to "swim in the deep end of the pool" and yet have some support and guidance. So here it is goes into public view.

I first approached this image with usual PS adjustments for the color image. Then I used the PS b&w conversion palette & the sliders, then adjusted with curves separately for the bkgd and the elephant seal. I did this several times. I know I repeatedly deleted layers and then worked again on various parts so I cannot say now exactly what I did.

Comments and critiques most welcome and appreciated!

Rachel Hollander
04-03-2014, 07:39 PM
Hi Nancy - careful, experimenting can become addictive. I am by no means an expert on toned or b&w images. What I look for in choosing an image that might work well as one is generally a greater tonal variety in the image. I could be wrong but it doesn't look like there was a lot of tonal variety between the seal, the water and the bg here. That being said I think you've done a good job but think a bit more contrast will take it up a notch. Try taking it into PS and applying a basic S curve adjustment to the seal only. Gives it a bit more punch. I'm sure others will jump in with other suggestions.

TFS,
Rachel

John Robinson
04-03-2014, 07:54 PM
Not into this ps stuff Nancy but all I can say is - it looks ok to me. Funny how in the old days we dreamed for years of decent colour film and now we go back to monochrome.! I had the chance to lead wildlife tours for the falklands tourist board many years back and turned it down ! Like everything I suppose its gets boring when yousee it every day.
Anyway a nice image whatever.
John

Tobie Schalkwyk
04-04-2014, 12:02 AM
I like it, Nancy! That 'hand' is freeky human-like! :eek3: