PDA

View Full Version : Early morning grouse - First post!

Andrew Robinson
04-03-2014, 02:45 AM
Hello. This is my first ever post so I have no idea what to expect. I live in the North of England and try to concentrate on local subjects. I have admired the standard of photos on here for a long time but have been reticent about posting because the standard has been so high. I am a very keen amateur photographer but my computer skills are pretty poor and I am still near the bottom of a steep learning curve.

This photo of a displaying Blackcock was taken from a pop up hide close to home.

Canon 7D. Canon 300mm f2.8. Tripod.

iso 500. f2.8. 1/320 sec.

I hope I have posted this correctly and thank you for looking.

Andrew

Mike Poole
04-03-2014, 05:31 AM
Hi Andrew, welcome from another new member from the north of England! The photo is showing fine.

I like the low POV of the shot, any lower and I think you'd have had to deal with too much oof area in the foreground. The angle of the bird is nice, as is the timing of the open beak. However, it looks to me like you've suffered in getting detail out of the dark areas, have you had to play with this much in PP?

A strong point of this forum is the number of people who can show you ways to get the extra detail out of your shot, so hopefully someone will be along soon to give you some specific PP crit

Daniel Cadieux
04-03-2014, 05:48 AM
Hey there Andrew...welcome to BPN!! Quite a fine first post you share here. Great calling pose in the muted light, and the blacks look good to me. Still a tough exposure though with those bright white tail feathers (perhaps there is some subtle detail to extract in raw processing using the highlights slider, depending which software you use). Love the low angle which created nice separation between the subject and background. Perhaps a crop a tad off the bottom (to just above your signature) and then adding that amount back at top would work well IMO.