PDA

View Full Version : Snoozing Avocet

Ian Cassell
03-12-2014, 10:39 PM
Canon 7D
Canon 500/4 + 1.4x

1/1250 sec f/10 ISO 400

Levels and sharpening (didn't see the halo when I uploaded, but do here -- a bit too much sharpening, I guess) in CS6. Slight crop for comp.

I was shooting a cluster of birds and forgot to open my aperture ... sigh. Fortunately he wasn't moving so I got away with this SS.

kevin Hice
03-13-2014, 05:16 AM
Nice pic Ian You had plenty of shutter speed for a still subject,I really don't like the crop I think it is too tight on the right .I know the bird is looking back but i still think I would have gone the opposite side or left more to the right. The bird is quite large in the frame. needs more room.Maybe even a tad more on top and bottom I don't see the halo on my screen.Luv the water. I am new to this and will see what the experts say on the crop.

Doug West
03-13-2014, 05:26 AM
I think the space on the right hand side is ok. I'm just wondering if maybe a little off
the bottom and a little more on the top. It's hard for me to tell on this screen I'm using
off a laptop.

Doug

Randall Farhy
03-13-2014, 08:49 AM
Ian- the Halo does not appear on my workstation, though is barely visible on the laptop-which tells me you nailed the output. As an aside, reading glasses can show anomalies that might not be visible otherwise, especially on less than optimal monitors. Perhaps a little more room all around, perhaps a slightly more centered position would help, putting the head on or closer to a thirds line. It's a pleasing image, tones and saturation are good, maybe just a tad green (very slight) and a little flat. -R

Diane Miller
03-13-2014, 12:09 PM