PDA

View Full Version : Theme Billy the Kid

Ashleigh Scully
03-05-2014, 05:48 PM
Hi -

This is a Mountain Goat Kid I photographed near Alpine, WY along the highway. I tried doing this in black and white because their fur is naturally a yellowish-white which doesn't look that good against the snow. To do this, I adjusted the color balance in the RAW converter and did some sharpening. Then I adjusted levels a tiny bit as it appeared a little too gray.

I cropped as best as I could to include as much of the Kid's coat in the frame.

I've never done a black and white before but am wondering what you think. I will be online later tonight and am looking forward to commenting on more photos then after homework.

Canon EOS 5D MIII
Canon 500mm IS + 1.4xTC
Gitzo tripod
ISO 250 ; f/7.1 ; 1/640s

Cropped 40% off

Glenn Conlan
03-05-2014, 06:59 PM
Very special image Ashleigh! Your black and white conversion really makes this shot over the top. I love the way you cropped this, and the detail is super. I visit Wyoming every year and have not been able to find these guys. We'll done, you should be very proud.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Rachel Hollander
03-05-2014, 09:13 PM
Hi Ashleigh - Another great image design. The b&w conversion works well, I just think it needs a bit more pop. I took it into PS and did a levels adjustment bringing in the right slider until just before the whites got too hot and also moving the midtone (middle) slider to the right. Finally I applied a round of USM to sharpen it a tad more. I may have overdone it slightly on the sharpening but it gives you an idea. Overall a really excellent image that would be a definite wall hanger for me.

TFS,
Rachel

Ashleigh Scully
03-05-2014, 09:36 PM
Hi Rachel thanks so much that looks amazing! And I understand how you did it too.

Do you think it's a big deal that the background is showing in the upper right corner? I couldn't crop it out without cutting off parts of the goat's head.

Rachel Hollander