PDA

View Full Version : Experience with NIK Filters in PS?

John Stuelpnagel
02-22-2014, 05:19 PM
Hi,
Does anyone use the NIK filter plug-ins for PS? I am relatively new to PS and to the NIK filters. I have been experimenting with Detail Extractor, Tonal Contrast and Pre-Sizing and Post-Sizing Sharpening. I have been using settings like, 4-8% for Detail Extractor, 5%/15%/5% for Tonal Contrast, and 25-35% for the Sharpening filters. However, I think that I may be overdoing it, either in combination or individually, as the images sometimes look artificial or blocky. I would be very interested in others' experiences with these filters and the settings that they have found useful. Additionally, has anyone compared the NIK Sharpening to the SmartSharpen filter in PS? Which do you prefer?
Thanks!

Diane Miller
02-23-2014, 07:27 PM
I use most of the Nik filters and really like them. Detail Extractor is a favorite. But settings vary with each image. Things will often look good at first then the next day it may look overdone (or the converse). It's all experience and learning to compare.

Sharpening is a bit of a pie in the sky thing, for me. It can compensate for some issues, such as losses in resizing, and it is important in those cases, but you can't really improve an image that is soft in the first place. But I have found both SS and Nik's sharpeners to be roughly comparable. Sometimes one will work slightly better than the other. The same with Nik's Dfine (noise reduction) vs Neat Image vs others.

Don Lacy
02-23-2014, 09:28 PM