PDA

View Full Version : Noise Reduction

William Dickson
02-11-2014, 05:36 PM
Can anyone tell me the best way to reduce noise from the background only. I am using CS6, and have Topaz Denoise 5. I am still learning photoshop, and i assume that i would have to select the subject, what is the best way to do this. I have studied various tutorials on the selection of subjects, but unsure of how to denoise the background only, and sharpen the image only.

I use a Canon 7D, and I find that any higher than ISO 800, puts noise onto the image.

Thanks for any advice :S3:

Steve Kaluski
02-12-2014, 02:50 AM
William you can do it within CS6 in ACR without going to a third party very easily, however you can also do it in Canon's DPP too, although someone like Arash is best equipped to help you on that as he knows DPP inside out.

If you want to talk tonight let me know, as I don't have time at present to type out the steps.

Steve

Diane Miller
02-12-2014, 10:42 AM
NR is such a subtle change, most of the time (in PS) I can select the subject with the Quick Selection tool, feather it a little, inverse it and then do NR on the selected area. Zoom in at 100% to make sure the edges are OK. Or better, make a separate layer, do NR on it and use the selection to mask out the subject you don't want to mess with. Then you can tweak the mask edges as needed with a fine brush.

You don't want to do NR so heavily that the edges show -- like sharpening, it isn't exactly a perfect solution. Subtle improvement is the best goal.

Anything you do in the RAW converter is glued into the image -- I prefer to do anything above the default NR later in PS, with more control.

Dennis Zaebst
02-12-2014, 03:22 PM
William,

Just some additional thoughts:

Others have had good success using Topaz Remask. I have it and use it on some images to select either the subject (which is to be sharpened) or the background, which is to be denoised or blurred.