PDA

View Full Version : Northern Harrier - Getting Close to Raptors

Henry Domke
02-05-2014, 02:34 PM
This Harrier flew past me when I was taking songbird pictures this morning at the Prairie Garden Trust. I've seen this bird before so I'm hoping to figure out a way to get closer. However, I have no experience with raptor photography. Can anyone give suggestions on how to get close to them on this property? I would like them to fill the frame the way that Arash Hazeghi does.

The following birds nest at the Prairie Garden Trust: American Kestrel, Red-shouldered Hawk, Red-tailed Hawk, Cooper's Hawk (near my house last year!) and the Great Horned Owl. I've also seen Bald Eagles, Broad-winged Hawks and of course the Northern Harrier.

I've put two frames of the same bird together to show you what it looks like with the wings up and down. The birds were very small in the frame so the crop is severe.

Canon 1DX
600 II
f/11
1/1,600 sec
ISO 1,600
manual exposure
hand held
Processed with Lightroom 5 and Photoshop CC

Karl Egressy
02-05-2014, 03:04 PM
Having two in the frame is a real treat, Henry. The Prairie Garden sounds like a great place.
I have never been close to this species and we have very few around.

David Salem
02-05-2014, 04:09 PM
Thats what I thought too Karl until I read the info. This has been stitched together as a composite.
Looks good Henry and I feel your pain.
Not easy in the best of situations to get frame filling shots of these guys or any raptors in general, although I think Harriers are probably the easiest. Because of their hunting behavior, they tend to look down allot as they fly around with a V winged pump and glide pattern that is very efficient, especially in the wind. They are the masters of the wind and windy days can be a good time to shoot Harriers as the wind slows them down to a crawl sometimes and makes for easier tracking.