PDA

View Full Version : THANKFUL FOR FAMILY, GREAT GRANDFATHER'S HOMESTEAD SODDY

gary ellwein
12-06-2013, 03:28 AM
I revisited the family homestead this November. Although it was early, the light was quite harsh. I used Topaz Simplify for the first time in an attempt to soften the image. A selective Fractalius layer was applied in an attempt to bring out some detail in the soddy. This is my first attempt at combining multiple layered effects. To date I've been a one act pony with Fractalius. Any tips from the pros will be appreciated.

Dennis Bishop
12-06-2013, 09:15 AM
This place has such wonderful character, and it's wonderful that there's a family connection. You did very nicely with it. The composition is good, and I like the way it's cropped. That and the cloudless sky emphasis its solitude. I'm a fan of Simplify combined with Fractalius, and I think you did a great job with them. The soddy really stands out.

Diane Miller
12-06-2013, 01:37 PM
What a wonderful house!!! It should be a museum! And you chose the perfect season to shoot it, with the brown and blue palette.

I'd be tempted to crop just a little off the left, to move the house just a little more off-center. It's so nicely balanced by the lonely trees, and a slight move farther from the center might emphasize that even more.

Kerry Perkins
12-06-2013, 01:50 PM
Nice job Gary, I really like the combined effects for this image. I don't see the house as centered at all and think the composition is fine. I like the placement of the horizon line and the clear blue sky. I think the framing adds to the sense of open space, which is a central element of this image. Well done!

gary ellwein
12-06-2013, 02:50 PM