PDA

View Full Version : Happy owner of a new 500mm f4 lense

Susan Griffith
05-08-2008, 09:55 PM
HI all,

Well after saving for many months i finally have my first big prime lense (500mm F4). Does anyone have any advice or techniques that would be useful? since i am a newbie to the big lenses.

I am soo looking forward to taking it out tomorrow to try it out.

-Susan

Ed Cordes
05-08-2008, 10:22 PM
Congratulations on your new baby. You will find it to be an outstanding lens that will last you a lifetime. Advice would be to remember good long lens technique. IS is great and will help you get many images impossible without it. However, you still need to have good technique. Post some images soon.

Bonnie Block
05-08-2008, 10:35 PM
Congratulations, Susan! I am sooo jealous. ;)
Looking forward to seeing some images from it.
I would love to get one, but I am having a hard time parting with my 300/2.8 in order to make the purchase. So I guess I had better start saving too!
It is a heavy lens--definitely suited for tripod or monopod at the least. Do you have a Wimberly or Sidekick to mount it on?

Susan Griffith
05-08-2008, 11:48 PM
Well, I am going to order the Wimberly next week. Until it arrives i am going to be using my ball head.

Still lots to learn and practice. There is an osprey nest not too far out side cle elum that I am going to see if i can get some good pics of the parents feeding their young and even the parents fishing if i am lucky enough.

I will post some photos as soon as i can get some good ones :D

-Susan

Bob Ettinger
05-09-2008, 09:21 AM
A set of Lens Coats to keep it looking good and protect it from nicks

Alfred Forns
05-09-2008, 03:35 PM
Hi Susan Big Congrats !!!

For supporting the lens you have another choice. Besides the full Wimberly you can use the Mongoose 3.5 Will save a couple of pounds and works well. I used it for up to a 500 and the Wimberly for the 600 lens. In a pinch I use the 600 on the Mongoose.