PDA

View Full Version : Just a portrait

Stan Cunningham
08-20-2013, 11:26 PM
Took a vertical of this bear as he got closer. FF with no crop.
Posted it for a couple reasons, I like all the colors from the bear and the background.
It also shows something bears can do that many mammals can't. They can focus the 2 eyes in 2 different directions.
As a former bear researcher I had no idea they could do that, and when I first noticed in in 2006 I sent photos to all my fellow bear researchers, none of us knew.
Canon 1D MK IV, f 9 (to get some dof since the bear was close) at 1/320 sec, 500 ISO.
LR 4, CS5, still a neophyte at using curves but it sure helped with this image as did S/H and some nik filters.
Comments are always appreciated.

Rachel Hollander
08-21-2013, 07:58 AM
Hi Stan - interesting about the eyes and vertical was the way to go. The colors look good including the bit of red/blood on the mouth area. My guess from your intro is that you may have used Nik Detail Extractor and if so, I think it is a bit too strong. I would also apply a bit of NR to the bg.

TFS,
Rachel

Loi Nguyen
08-21-2013, 09:11 AM
Hi Stan, very nice portrait of this powerful bear. I'd be more scare standing in front of this guy than in a safari vehicle any day! Rachel gave you good advice. I also thought the colors and contrast on the bear are too strong. I also wonder whether a bit less sharpening would help with the wet fur. Loi

Bill Jobes
08-21-2013, 10:27 AM
This is an impressive shot, Stan. Your lower angle perspective strongly emphasizes the power of the animal and the potential risk in photographing these wondrous creatures.

As an expert in the field (sorry about the pun), I'm sure you know your proximity limits. With all the aggressive bear reports lately, it reminds me that care must be taken under these circumstances.