PDA

View Full Version : Monarch

Anita Bower
08-18-2013, 07:56 AM
I am new to butterfly photography. I was by my flower garden marveling at the 5 different kinds of butterflies flitting from flower to flower, and couldn't resist trying to take some photos.

Nikon D300, 105mm macro, handheld, f 5, 1/320, ISO 125, natural light. Large crop.

Comments and suggestions welcome.

Steve Maxson
08-18-2013, 10:21 AM
Hmmm - looks like you have a new calling, Anita! :S3: You captured an excellent specimen giving you a nice pose in good light. You have good overall sharpness and I like the comp. The curved stem is a nice plus. I think I would prefer the image without the bright orange flower behind the stem and the smaller one on the right. Although it's natural, if this was mine, I'd be tempted to clone the one leg sticking out into the air. This is very well done - keep the insect pictures coming!

Allen Sparks
08-18-2013, 11:12 PM
Hi Anita, nice butterfly image and I agree with Steve's comments above. Nice pose you captured. It's a nit but the flower and stem seem a tad sharper to me than the butterfly - wonder if the butterfly was moving slightly when you took this or maybe it is just the large crop as you mentioned. Overall a very nice image. -- Allen

Jonathan Ashton
08-19-2013, 04:36 AM
Hi Anita - you are on the right track that is for sure. I would offer a couple of suggestions:
If you have the appropriate software check out where your focal point was (in Canon DPP there is an option to display focal points I am second guessing there may a be a similar facility in Nikon??).
Parts of the flower and parts of the butterfly are sharp but others are a little soft (the forewing) - this could be for one or two of two reasons: the focal point was not on the butterfly and the aperture was a tad wide, I would suggest f8 I appreciate you probably wanted to ensure the background was well out of focus.