PDA

View Full Version : Crime Scene - the rhino poaching crisis in South Africa

Gabriela Plesea
05-22-2013, 02:19 PM
I hope you will allow me a few words before you give a critique to this image. This might be the worst photograph in my collection and you might wonder why I am posting it...The rhino crisis in my country has touched me deeply and my intention is to create awareness of this dire situation. There are many Game Reserves in this area and every day we realize that the rate of rhino poaching is increasing beyond control. By 2014 we might have no rhinos left.

I took this image of a rhino kill from a light aircraft with my Nikon D300S and a Nikon 200 lens. I cannot give details regarding the place where it was taken, the kill is still under investigation. I was afraid to use a bigger lens because of weight and length-the pilot took the doors out in order for me to have a full view...I have never done this before, at times I felt I was going to drop my equipment, with the aircraft tilting and turning. It was silly of me to try and film as well as take photographs, while I was filming I had my camera on my lap and I had to hold it at times, otherwise it would vanish into thin air. The purpose of the flight was to take close-ups of rhino so that we can identify them-I do have a few decent images, but for the rest I guess my lens was too small. I am planning to take the Nikon 300 F2.8 next time with a 1.4 converter and attach it to my Nikon D3S, hopefully less noise at high ISO. Is there anyone among BPN members who has done aerial shots before, and if so, did you use a harness to keep your equipment safe? What kind of harness? I could do with some help...

I really appreciate you viewing this image, it means a lot to me.

Warmest regards,

dankearl
05-22-2013, 09:25 PM
Gabriela,
Thanks for posting this.
Just an outrageous crime with seeming no solution on the international level.