PDA

View Full Version : Cheeky Warthog

edwardselfe
05-22-2013, 08:19 AM
I took this image of an inquisitive male Warthog right at the beginning of the rains. The air is clear, there's short grass everywhere, and the detail available in images is astonishing. He kept approaching me so this is almost FF (just straightened). My composition options were therefore a bit limited. I do have some other shots with him further away but there's no connection with the viewer.

Be very interested in feedback and comments. Thanks.

1D4, 500mm f4 + 1.4x, ISO 500, f5.6, 1/800s.

Ed

Russell Johnson
05-22-2013, 09:04 AM
Very good intimate portrait.

You have a lot of information on the RHS of the histogram, a levels adjusment to around 231 helps it all pop a bit more.

Personally I would look to work out the classic canon color cast to make the colours sing a little more.

Have a RP, let me know if you want to, lets see what the others think.

vishaljadhav
05-22-2013, 09:29 AM
Ed
i am a bit new to PP and may not understand the language of PP very well as written by Russell

About the image , i like it for a few things
1) the eye level is nice
2) good details on the animal
3) the front on pose

The bright space at the bottom can be toned down a bit on the right of the subject.

Steve Kaluski
05-22-2013, 10:48 AM
Hi Ed, I think Russell has picked up most of my initial thoughts, although I might have only gone to 243, otherwise you will start to pick up blown white hotspots in the image. But what I would do is add a Curves Mid tone adjustment to lift the subject. If you are happy then I would also suggest applying some brush strokes of various greens & %'s to mask the black parts in the BKG. Just watch the colouration on the back/rump. I like the low POV, however I do think you are on the limit of space from feet to trim, it's a wee bit neat for me, just a sliver more would be ideal IMHO. The addition of the mud is a nice touch, likewise the hint of colour in the eyes.

TFS
Steve