PDA

View Full Version : Luminosity Masks - 1st Try

James Fuller
04-22-2013, 02:20 PM
This is a blend of two exposures using luminosity masks. I'm just learning how to use them so it takes longer for me to process images right now compared to using Photomatix, but I am enjoying learning the new method as it has really opened my eyes up to the never ending masking possibilities. Big thanks to Morkel for introducing me to this technique!

Nikon D800, 14-24 @ 16mm, F9, ISO 200, Tripod. Blend of two exposures using luminosity masks.

Comments Appreciated!

Morkel Erasmus
04-22-2013, 02:57 PM
I think this came out really well, James (and you're welcome :5)
The exposure looks quite even and tonal detail and quality looks good. I might burn the shadows in the foreground textures/mounds very slightly (5% or so).
This blending technique can make midtones appear very muddy - there's a section in the sky (to the left of the brightest orange) that looks kind of like this, but I'm not sure if it actually looked like that and is reflected in your RAW exposures as is...?

Morkel Erasmus
04-22-2013, 03:00 PM
PS: an easy way to blend these where there's a clear divide in the middle of the frame with no rocks or trees prodtruding "into" the sky, is to use the grad filter in PS to merely mask out as if you were using a ND filter in shooting
:w3

Andrew McLachlan
04-22-2013, 04:45 PM
Very nice first try James. I also like the placement of the foreground stones and the lovely cloudscape.

James Fuller
04-22-2013, 09:38 PM
PS: an easy way to blend these where there's a clear divide in the middle of the frame with no rocks or trees prodtruding "into" the sky, is to use the grad filter in PS to merely mask out as if you were using a ND filter in shooting
:w3

Thanks for the tip. Also, I struggled processing the left side of the sky...I'll have to play around with it some more.

Don Railton
04-22-2013, 11:22 PM
Hi James