PDA

View Full Version : The Pinnacles...

Jerry van Dijk
04-21-2013, 03:39 PM
... in Nambung National Park, W.A. The area is covered with oddly formed sandstone pinnacles emerging from loose sand. The origin of the pinnacles is still debated, but probably includes some form of concretion of calcium around plant roots in a distant past. Blend of three exposures with 2 stops differences in Photomatix Pro (still didn't find the time to get into the manual blending :S3:). I'm still new to the whole blending thing, so any comments or suggestions for improvement are welcome.

Nikon D7000, Nikkor 16-85 @16mm, handheld, ISO-100, f/4.5, 1/320 sec (0 EV specs).
Desaturated the colors a bit for a more natural look, cloned out some lens flares in the FG and in the central cloud. Left the ones in the sky in, because of the sunrays around the cloud it was too difficult to remove them.

Don Railton
04-21-2013, 11:15 PM
Hello jerry

Your blending looks good to me except for the central cloud which looks a bit too hot on the upper edges.. Not sure what you can do about that as i am pretty new at blending as well... The colour of everything else looks about right to me...

DON

Jerry van Dijk
04-22-2013, 04:29 AM
Thanks Don! The edges of the cloud are indeed too hot. I'll have to check the original images to see whether the darkest exposure contains any detail in those regions, otherwise I can't do anything about it. Shooting conditions in WA are certainly more difficult than here in Europe! Harsh sun, spectacular but very white clouds and a bright blue sky. I had to use exposure blends for many of the images from the Pinnacles to get good results.

Anette Mossbacher
04-22-2013, 04:36 AM
Hi Jerry,

overall looks fine to me. Did you try the content aware fill for the lens flares just under the cloud? Would try that, if you want to get rid of them!