PDA

View Full Version : Fasciated Antshrike

Richard Unsworth
01-19-2013, 12:25 PM
:S3:

At edge of the forest I waited patiently for a family of these to emerge; a long hot wait as they seldom break out of cover for long.
They have an additive voice which you can learn to call to them.

The juicy caterpillaer is an obvious bonus; BG a bit busy but thats where you fin:t3 them
I cropped to about 70, reset black and white points and took blue off with sel sat.
Noise reduction and sharpening

Canon 7d 100-400 F5.6 1/40 TRIPOD ISO 400

Richard Unsworth
01-19-2013, 01:54 PM
True, pruned methinks. thanks for critique:S3:

Gary Esman
01-19-2013, 02:50 PM
Interesting looking guy. Nice and sharp and the caterpillar certainly adds interest. Cool looking eye.

Gary.

gail bisson
01-19-2013, 04:13 PM
I am not a flash expert but I think fill flash would have really helped you here. In fact, I think you must become an expert in flash when dealing with "jungle " birds.
I like the caterpillar in the mouth and agree the BG is busy. Very unusual looking bird and a new species for me so thanks for showing!:S3:
Gail

Richard Unsworth
01-19-2013, 04:57 PM
Thanks Gail

too true re flash next time I visit I will be carrying; tried onboard fill that day but didnt get it right

Satish Ranadive
01-19-2013, 06:02 PM
Beautiful image in environment.Very nice pose,colors and details.
Seeing for the first time,it looks like Asian koel,female with some difference.TFS.

Regards,
Satish.

PhilCook
01-19-2013, 06:15 PM
Wonderful markings on this bird, one I have never seen before. Personally I like the backdrop with the glossy colored leaves, quite natural = I like natural :S3: I'm curious about flash use or not here, I rather thought the light/shadows looked very good as is with plenty of detail as it is ?