PDA

View Full Version : Barn Owl in Flight

Loi Nguyen
01-17-2013, 06:17 PM
I'm a newbie to wildlife photography and this is my first post here. I have seen amazing photos in this forum and would appreciate your feedback. This barn owl image was taken with a 1DX, 500f4 II, 1.4X III on a Gitzo 3550LS tripod with Wimberley V2 gimbal head. ISO-1000, f5.6, 1/8000, center focus expand with 4 surround points, evaluative metering, +1/3 EV, around 8AM in the morning. I saw her perched on a fence post and stopped the car across the road for this shot. There were 2 distracting sticks and an ugly barbed wire behind the bird, which I cloned out in Adobe Photoshop Element (first time using this tool too).

CM Prince
01-17-2013, 07:18 PM
I not a Pro on what is good or bad with pictures, but the Barn Owl looks like a read one. Not so doctor up that it don't look real.

C M Prince
Mission, TX

Melissa Groo
01-17-2013, 07:44 PM
Welcome Loi! You will learn a lot here. This forum is really the best out there in terms of truly substantive and helpful comments that help one to improve.
Your first post is terrific. For someone new to wildlife photography, you seem to have a great sense of timing, exposure, and composition! I only have a couple of suggestions. I see evidence of cloning perhaps on top of his left wing, as well as underneath. And I suggest lessening the size of your signature on the pic as it's a bit distracting. But otherwise, I think this is a wonderful barn owl image! Looking forward to seeing more of your work.
Make sure to comment on others' pictures as that's a wonderful way to learn too, as well as helping build community.

Randy Stout
01-17-2013, 07:56 PM
Loi:

A big welcome to BPN. Good input from above. I agree about the cloning work, pretty close, and a few seconds with a low opacity clone stamp will clean up the slight marks left.

Nice colors on bird and background.